Implats Appoints New Chairman5 Jun 2002
IMPALA PLATINUM HOLDINGS LIMITED                                                
Registration number:  1957/001979/06                                            
ISIN:  ZAE000003554                                                             
JSE Share Code: Imp                                                             
LSE Share Code: Impla                                                           
ADRS: Impay                                                                     
IMPLATS APPOINTS NEW CHAIRMAN                                                   
Impala Platinum Holdings Limited (Implats) advises that the Board has           
appointed Peter Joubert as non-executive chairman with effect from 6 June       
2002. Mr Joubert has served as an independent non-executive director on the     
Implats board since 1995.                                                       
This follows the resignation of Michael McMahon as chairman as announced on     
31 May 2002.  McMahon will, however, remain on the board as a non-executive,    
independent director.                                                           
Mr Joubert serves on a number of boards, including Old Mutual plc, Murray &     
Roberts, Nedcor (where he is Deputy Chairman), NIB and Malbak. He also          
chairs the boards of Delta Motors, Munich Reinsurance and Delta Electrical.     
The bulk of his career was at Afrox, where he spent many years as the Chief     
Executive and, later, Chairman.                                                 
Issued by:                                                                      
Sponsor to Impala                                                               
Deutsche Securities (SA) (Pty) Limited                                          
Date: 05/06/2002 05:00:13 PM Produced by the SENS Department