AVENG LIMITED - Appointment of director20 Oct 2021
Appointment of director

(Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa)
(Registration number: 1944/018119/06)
ISIN: ZAE000111829
("Aveng" or "the Group")


In compliance with paragraph 3.59 of the Listings Requirements of the JSE Limited, Aveng is
pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Bernard Swanepoel as an independent non-
executive director to the Board with effect from 20 October 2021. In addition, Mr Swanepoel has
been appointed to the Risk Committee, Safety, Health and Environment Committee, and the
Investment Committee.
Mr Swanepoel has over 40 years of experience in the South African mining industry of which over
25 years have been in executive management roles. He is a qualified mining engineer with a B.
Com (Hons) in Financial Management. He was the Chief Executive Officer of Harmony Gold
Mining Company Limited for 12 years before he co-founded “To The Point Growth Specialists
(TTP)” in 2008. Mr Swanepoel has served for 11 years on the Board of Sanlam Limited and 15
years on the Board of African Rainbow Minerals Limited. He is the Chairman of Manganese Metal
Company (Pty) Ltd and past President of the Small Business Institute (SBI). He currently
serves on the Boards of Impala Platinum Holdings Limited, Zimplats Holdings Limited and Omnia
Holdings Limited.
The Aveng Board welcomes Mr Swanepoel and looks forward to his contribution to the Group.
Following the appointment of Mr Swanepoel, shareholders are advised that the Company’s Audit
& Risk Committee has been split to create two separate committees namely the Audit Committee
and the Risk Committee. The Committees are constituted of Independent Non-Executive
Directors as follows:

    •   Audit Committee: B Modise (Chair), B Meyer, and M Kilbride;

    •   Risk Committee: M Kilbride (Chair), P Hourquebie, B Modise and B Swanepoel;
    •   Social, Ethics and Transformation Committee: M Hermanus (Chair), P Hourquebie,
        and B Modise;
    •   Safety, Health and Environment Committee: M Hermanus (Chair), M Kilbride and
        B Swanepoel;

    •   Remuneration and Nomination Committee: M Kilbride (Chair), P Hourquebie, B Meyer
        and M Hermanus; and
    •   Investment Committee: P Hourquebie (Chair), B Meyer, B Swanepoel, and B Modise

The composition of the Aveng Board remains compliant with the King IV requirements.
20 October 2021

Melrose Arch

JSE Sponsor
UBS South Africa Proprietary Limited

Edinah Mandizha
Company Secretary
Tel: 011 779 2800
Email: info@avenggroup.com

Date: 20-10-2021 05:30:00
Produced by the JSE SENS Department. The SENS service is an information dissemination service administered by the JSE Limited ('JSE'). 
The JSE does not, whether expressly, tacitly or implicitly, represent, warrant or in any way guarantee the truth, accuracy or completeness of
 the information published on SENS. The JSE, their officers, employees and agents accept no liability for (or in respect of) any direct, 
indirect, incidental or consequential loss or damage of any kind or nature, howsoever arising, from the use of SENS or the use of, or reliance on,
 information disseminated through SENS.